Five cities to compete to host the 1st Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2010

IOC Press Release - 19 November 2007

Athens (GRE), Bangkok (THA), Moscow (RUS), Singapore (SIN) and Turin (ITA) were today selected by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as Candidate Cities to host the 1st Summer Youth Olympic Games in 2010. The cities were selected unanimously from a total of nine Cities, which also included Debrecen (HUN), Guatemala City (GUA), Kuala Lumpur (MAS) and Poznan (POL).

The selection was made on the basis of a study of the Cities’ Candidature Files and related documents submitted to the IOC on 26 October 2007. The study and subsequent report were conducted by a panel of experts including representatives of the Olympic Movement and specialists. The panel assessed the risk associated with each city’s project based on the timeframe of two and a half years available to host the 1st Summer Youth Olympic Games. It also appraised the robustness of each project in terms of the capability to host successful Youth Olympic Games in 2010. Based on this analysis, the IOC Executive Board unanimously validated the panel’s proposal of short listed Candidate Cities.

Discover the full report of the panel of experts

The projects of the five short listed Candidate Cities will now be further assessed by an IOC Evaluation Commission, chaired by IOC Executive Board member Sergey Bubka and composed of representatives of the Olympic Movement as follows:
Mr Frank Fredericks (IOC Athletes’ Commission)
Mr Guido de Bondt (NOC representative)
Mr Andrew Ryan (IF representative)
Mr Gilbert Felli (Olympic Games Executive Director)
Mr Essar Gabriel (Head of the Youth Olympic Games)

The IOC Evaluation Commission will submit its report to the IOC Executive Board at the end of January 2008. On the basis of this report, the IOC Executive Board will recommend which Candidate Cities will be submitted to the IOC members for election as host city. Following a postal vote by all IOC members, the host city for the 1st Summer Youth Olympic Games will be announced at the end of February 2008.